News & Press Releases

2012 General Election Protests & Appeals

The following is a list of protests and appeals filed with the State Election Commission for the 2012 General Election.  Protests for countywide and less-than-countywide offices are filed with the appropriate county election commission.  Protests heard by county election commissions may be appealed to the State Election Commission.

The SEC will hear protests and appeals at 2221 Devine Street, Suite 101, Columbia, SC, 29205, unless noted otherwise.


Filing deadline: Noon, Monday, November 19th (except offices affected by Richland County ballots)

Filing deadline for all offices affected by Richland County ballots: Noon, Monday, November 26

Copies of these protests are attached to this post.

Office Protestant Other candidates Date/Time of Hearing SEC Decision
State Senate District 45 Leilani Bessinger Clementa Pinckney November 27, 10 am Protest denied, election results stand
State House District 53 Richie Yow

Phil Powell

Ted Martin Vick

November 27, 1 pm Protest Denied, election results stand
State Senate District 25 John Pettigrew, Jr. Shane Massey Dismissed

Dismissed - Lack of Standing, election results stand


Appeal deadline: Noon, November 26 (except protests heard in Richland County)

Appeal deadline for protests heard in Richland County: Noon, December 10

Copies of these appeals are attached to this post.

Office Appellant Other candidates Date/Time of Hearing SEC Decision
Georgetown School Board District 6 Peggy Wheeler-Cribb Richard Kerr December 4, 12:00 Noon Appeal granted, decision of Georgetown County Election Commission overturned, election results stand
Lexington County Council District 3 Darrell Hudson

Kent Collins

Scott Adams

Wes Howard

Anthony Keisler

December 4, 10:00 am Appeal denied, decision of Lexington County Election Commission upheld, election results stand
Berkeley County Council District 3

Henry Hank Niles, Jr.

Robert O. Call, Jr.

Ken Gunn December 4, 2:30 pm Appeal denied, decision of Berkeley County Election Commission upheld, election results stand
Richland County Sales Tax Referendum Michael Letts  

December 17, 10:00 a.m.

 Appeal denied.  Decision of Richland County Election Commission upheld.  Election results stand.
Richland County Council District 8 Michael Letts James Manning December 17, immediately following Sales Tax Referendum Appeal  Appeal withdrawn.
Attachment Size
Protest - Senate 45 - Bessinger v Pinckney.pdf 1.28 MB
Protest - House 53 - Yow v Vick.pdf 363.68 KB
Protest - Senate 25 - Pettigrew v Massey.pdf 194.93 KB
Appeal - Georgetown SB District 6 - Kerr.pdf 232.27 KB
Appeal - Lexington CC District 3 - Hudson.pdf 155.83 KB
Appeal - Berkeley CC District 3 - Niles, Call.pdf 289.7 KB
Appeal - Richland Sales Tax Referendum - Letts.pdf 172.65 KB
Appeal - Richland CC District 8 - Letts.pdf 162.78 KB
Posted in Uncategorized
Back to All News